About Your Central Committee

The Monterey County Democratic Central Committee (MCDCC) is the elected body representing registered Democrats in Monterey County; it serves as the local presence of the California Democratic Party. The MCDCC holds monthly meetings every fourth Tuesday from 6:30 – 8:30 P.M. (Except in December) All are preceded by social time with snacks and beverages beginning at 6:00 P.M.

Meetings are open to the public and all are welcome. The meeting location alternates between the Seaside Center for Change (1238 Fremont Blvd, Seaside 93955), and the Salinas Center for Change (931 ½ East Market Street, Salinas 93905). (NOTE: Until further notice, meetings will be held remotely using Zoom. To obtain the link, please email MDCC.)

Karen Araujo, Chair
Box 442, Salinas CA 93902

Email: Karen Araujo (Subject line “MoCo Democrats:…”)
Phone (Center for Change, Seaside): 831-333-0101
Phone (Center for Change, Salinas): 831-402-9106

Executive Board

Karen Araujo, Chair

Gary Karnes, AD 29 – Vice Chair

Amit Pandya, AD 30 – Vice Chair

Joseph Aliotti, Executive Secretary
Caspian Forsyth, Financial Officer
David Kong, Development Officer

MCDCC Members

MoCo Board of Sup. District 1 – Patricia Rubio Coyt, Martha Campbell Lopez, Vacancy

MoCo Board of Sup. District 2 – Regina Gage, Maria Luisa Alejo, Anthony Rocha, Kathryn Ramirez

MoCo Board of Sup. District 3 – David Kong, Timothy Miguel, Ernesto Gonzalez

MoCo Board of Sup. District 4 – Alicia Gaines, Herbert Cortez, Wes White, Jonathan Wizard, Alexis Arrazola

MoCo Board of Sup. District 5 – Jan Knippers Black, Elena Loomis, Gary Karnes, Alan Haffa, Joseph Aliotti, George Riley, Timothy Barrett

Club Representatives:

Democratic Women of Monterey County:

Colleen Courtney

Nicole Hollingsworth, Alternate

Democratic Club of the Monterey Peninsula:

Linda Bynoe

Bill Lipe, Alternate

Salinas Valley Democratic Club:

Victor Caravez

Jose Covarrubias, Alternate

Marina Democratic Club:

Lisa Berkley

David Burnett, Alternate

Progressive Democrats of America:

Karen Araujo

Robert W. Coble, Alternate

Seaside Democrats:

Ian Oglesby

Jesse Perez, Alternate

Assembly District 30 Representative to the CA Democratic Party: Dominic Dursa

Ex-Officio Members: Mark Stone, 29th Assembly District;  Robert Rivas, 30th Assembly District;  Anna Caballero, 12th Senate District; John Laird, 17th Senate District; and  Jimmy Panetta, 20th Congressional District. At Large Member: Erin Fogg, Communications Liaison


Finance – Caspian Forsyth, Chair

Credentials – Karen Araujo, Chair

Campaign – Gary Karnes, Chair

Development – David Kong, Chair

Issues – Alan Haffa, Chair

Facilities – Gary Karnes, Chair

Policies and Procedures – Joseph Aliotti, Chair

What Is A Central Committee?

County Central Committees are the local governing bodies of the Democratic Party in each county. They are chartered by the State Democratic Party. Central Committees raise funds, plan election activities, and may open campaign headquarters. The Monterey County Democratic Central Committee (MCDCC) promotes the values expressed in the California Democratic Party’s Platform and helps to elect to local office individuals sharing those values and registered in the Democratic Party . In addition, the MCDCC charters local Democratic Clubs promoting the Party Platform, holding meetings taking place regularly, and with a minimum of 20 registered Democrats as dues paying members. Representatives to the MCDCC are elected every four years. Representation on the MCDCC is based on the number of registered Democrats voting within each County Supervisorial District and members must live in the Supervisorial District which they represent. Partisan-level Democratic nominees or Democratic Elected Officials who live in the county are also members. See our Bylaws or the CA Democratic Party’s Bylaws for full details.